Florida Statutes provide that the Clerk of the
Circuit Court is responsible for the
administration of tax deed sales.

HOW CAN A TAX CERTIFICATE BE
BROUGHT TO SALE?

If a certificate is not redeemed within two years
from the date the taxes became delinquent; the
certificate holder may apply for a tax deed, and
bring the land to sale at a public auction.
Example: 2015 taxes are delinquent April 1,
2016; therefore, a tax deed application may be
made on April 1, 2018. A certificate holder
who wishes to apply for a tax deed must
redeem all other certificates, unpaid taxes and
other fees as mandated by state law. For further
information on tax certificates contact the
Charlotte County Tax Collector at 941-743-1350

WHAT IS A TAX DEED SALE?

A tax deed sale is the sale of property at public
auction for back taxes and fees associated with
bringing the property to sale.

HOW DO I PURCHASE A TAX DEED
PROPERTY AT A TAX DEED SALE?

Tax Deed Sales are held by the Clerk of the
Court’s on line auction web site at:
www.charlotte.realforeclose.com.

Prior to bidding on Tax Deeds, you must first
register at this website. For more information
regarding the online sale, please visit the Clerk
of Court’s main website at:
http://www.co.charlotte.fl.us/

HOW IS THE STARTING BID
OBTAINED?

The starting bid, otherwise called base bid, is
calculated from the following charges:

*Tax Collectors Fee...........ccooene... $75.00
Taxes & Interest.........ccccoeeuveennn... $(varies)
*QOwnership & Encumbrance Report...$50.00
*Clerk’s Statutory Fee.................... $60.00
*Clerks Web Fee.....oovvvvinininnnnn $49.00
*Advertising Charge..................... $(varies)
FEPOSIAZE. ..ttt $(varies)
**Sheriff’s Fee.........$40.00 per person served

Additional Interest...@ (1.5%) per month
figure above
If Homestead Property.
1/2 of the Assessed Value will be included
STARTING BID = TOTAL OF ABOVE

* These fees are fixed fees for each property
** These fees depend on the number of
individuals to be notified.

IS THE OWNER OF THE PROPERTY

NOTIFIED THAT THE PROPERTY IS

BEING SOLD?

Yes. Florida Statute 197.522 requires the
Clerk of the Circuit Court to send a notice to
the owner of record and any lien holder of
record.

1. A notice of Application for Tax Deed,
which states the date and time of sale and the
amount due to redeem the property is mailed.

2. If the owner resides in the State of Florida,
the sheriff of the county where the owner
resides will attempt to serve a notice of
Application for Tax Deed to the owner.

3.  The Notice of Application is published
once each week for four consecutive weeks at
weekly intervals in a newspaper selected as
provided in s.197.402. No tax deed sale shall
be auctioned until thirty days after the first
publication of the notice.

WHAT HAPPENS IF I AM THE HIGH
BIDDER?

Once all fees have been paid, a Tax Deed is
issued and recorded in the name you request
for the property on which you were the high
bidder. According to Florida Statute 197.562,
“Any person, firm, corporation, or county that
is the grantee of any tax deed under this law
shall be entitled to the immediate possession of
the lands described in the deed.”

CAN A TAX DEED SALE BE STOPPED?

Yes. According to Florida Statute 197.422, tax
deed property may be redeemed anytime prior
to the recording of the tax deed if all back taxes
and fees are paid to the Tax Collector.

DO LIENS SURVIVE THE ISSUANCE OF
A TAX DEED?

You may wish to consult your attorney.
Florida Statute 197.552 provides, in part,
“.except as specifically provided in this
chapter, no right, interest, restriction, or other
convenant shall survive the issuance of a tax
deed, except that a lien of record held by a
Municipal, County or Federal Government
unit, when such lien is not satisfied as of the
disbursement of proceeds of sale under the
provisions of s.197.582, shall survive the
issuance of a tax deed...”



NOW THATTHAVE A TAX DEED WHAT Calling all 5th Graders!*

There may be additional processes that are
necessary in order to obtain marketable title.
However, this question cannot be answered by the
Tax Collectors Office. You may wish to contact
your attorney for further information

WHATHAPPENS-WHEN-THEREARENO—
BIDDERS AT THE COUNTY TAX DEED
SALE?

33

for Taxes” pursuant to Florida Statute 197.502. The
1999 FL Legislature amended the process of
obtaining tax deeds for real property by holders of
tax sale certificates, section 197.502, Florida
Statutes, effective May 26, 1999. See Chapter 99-
190, Laws of Florida (see Senate Bill 1534, sections
3-5). As described below, portions of this law apply
only to property that is on the list of lands available
for taxes upon which there are no outstanding tax
sale certificates that were issued prior to July 1,
1999 (see Senate Bill 1534, section 8).

Kids Tag Art is a program of the Charlotte County Tax Collector office. Itis

The new law changes the start date for determining a fundraising project that inspires Hth grade students to design their own
the 90-day period the county may purchase land .

from the list of lands available for taxes. Under Iy Plae st
prior law, the 90-day period began the day after the
public sale. Under the new law, the 90-day period oo . A
begins when the land is placed on the list of lands Monies from the sale of the kids tag art go directly to the art program at the

available for taxes. school of the designing winner.

The new law changes the period of time land can be

transferred to the county, from seven years from the Two winners are chosen from each 5th grade elementary school. In addi-
date the land is offered for public sale to three years

from the date the land is offered for public sale. See tion, five students receive special awards from the tax collector, Sponsor, Su-

section 197.502 (8), Florida Statutes (1999). perintendent, Education Foundation and the Sheriff.

The winning tag art is available for purchase and the winner’s are display at
the Charlotte County Tax Collector’s website.

www.cctaxcol.com/kidsart
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