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COUNTY AND CITY PLATES

These plates were not issued by the State of Florida
and cannot be authenticated.
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1913 - 1914, Volusia Co.
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1917, Palm Beach Co.
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1917, St. Lucie Co.
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1917, Volusia Co. 1917, Walton Co.




1918-1939 FLORIDA PLATES
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1918, white on black, flat 1919, black on orange 1920, red on gray
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1921, white on brown 1922, white on green {2] 1923, ornage on dark blue
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1924, white on black (2) 1925, orange on green{i} 1926, yellow on black
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1927, white on black 1928, yellow on maroon 1929, yellow on blue (2)
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1930, white on green 1931, white on maroon 1932, orange on black
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1935, black on yellow with
black on yellow lock strip

1936, white on red
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1937 FLORIDA

s FLORIDA 39

1937, white on green 1938, yellow on black 1939, red on white
County code/prefixes were introduced in 1938.
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1940-1959 FLORIDA PLATES
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1941, red on white 1942, orange on blue
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1945, yellow on black 1946, white on dark blue 1947, white on green
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1957, blue on white 1958, white on dark green 1959, dark green on white




1960-1974 FLORIDA PLATES

*FLORIDA® (19" SUNSHINE STATE 61

IKRCRINY 8 - 7678

L EUHSHINE STATE » 60 | FLORIDA..

L

1960, yellow on blue 1961, dark blue on yellow
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1963, white on blue 1964, blue on orange
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1966, white on blue 1967-1968, white on black
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1969-1970, white on green
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1968-1969, white on red
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1972, red on white 1973, green on white

1974, red on white



AUTHENTICATION PROCESS

Pursuant to Florida Statute 320.086, authenticated license plates may be issued to any vehicle
manufactured in 1974 or earlier and currently titled in the State of Florida. The license plate
must be the same year as the model year of the car or truck. Authenticated license plates may
only be issued to cars, motorcycles, and pickups weighing 5,000 pounds or less.

The license plate will be approved for issuance if it passes inspection and is still legible for law
enforcement purposes. A county code or prefix does not have to match the residential county
of the applicant.

The documentation listed below must be submitted by the applicant to the tax collector for
review.

« The vehicle first must be titled in Florida in the name of the applicant

« AFlorida license plate matching the year of manufacture of the vehicle

« A completed Request for Authentication

- Registration Fees (Usually $30-$60. Tax collector personnel will inform you of the exact fee
upon approval.)

Instructions:

Drop off your authenticated license plate to a tax collector office with your completed Request
for Authentication form. Be sure to write your name, email address, and a daytime phone
number on the form. Tax collector personnel will contact you during business hours once the
license plate has been reviewed.

Important Information:

Government license plates will not be approved for use.

Special use license plates (example: Seminole Indian, Amateur Radio, etc.) may require
additional documentation and may or may not be authorized.

Any license plates mailed or shipped must be sent by a trackable method. The tax collector is
not responsible for lost in transit plates, damaged plates, or plates left at a different branch or
drop boxes.
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Plate Types

Private Trailer

Private Trailer

City Bus

Commercial Vehicle
Passenger < 2500 Ibs.
Limousine/Bus for Hire
Florida Highway Patrol*
Half-year trailer for hire >4001 Ibs.
Commercial <2050 Ibs.
Truck for hire, full-year
Commercial 2051-3050 Ibs.
Commercial 3051-5050 Ibs.
Commercial >5050 Ibs.
Heavy Equipment

Truck for hire >4051 Ibs.
Handicapped

Ambulance

Semi-trailer

Member of Congress*
Mobile Home

Rental Trailer

Rental Trailer

Semi-trailer for hire
Off-road Vehicle/Harvest Truck
Antique/Historic Vehicle
Recreational Vehicle

Bus for Hire

State Road Department®
Passenger

Truck Tractor

Half-year Truck Tractor
Private trailer <500 Ibs.
Passenger 3500-4500 Ibs.
Passenger > 4500 Ibs.

Tax Exempt

*Government-owned and Legislative License Plates Cannot Be Authenticated for Use




County Codes

1. Dade 24. St. Lucie 47. Citrus

2. Duval 25. Jackson 48. Clay

3. Hillsborough  26. Osceola 49. Hendry
4. Pinellas 27. Highlands 50. Washington
5. Polk 28. Pasco 51. Holmes
6. Palm Beach 29. Columbia 52. Baker

7. Orange 30. Hardee 53. Charlotte
8. Volusia 31. Suwannee 54. Dixie

9. Escambia 32. Indian River 55. Gilchrist
10. Broward 33. Santa Rosa 56. Hamilton
11. Alachua 34. De Soto 57. Okeechobee
12. Lake 35. Madison 58. Calhoun
13. Leon 36. Walton 59. Franklin
14. Marion 37. Taylor 60. Glades
15. Manatee 38. Monroe 61. Flagler
16. Sarasota 39. Levy 62. Lafayette
17. Seminole 40. Hernando 63. Union

18. Lee 41. Nassau 64. Collier
19. Brevard 42. Martin 65. Wakulla
20. St. Johns 43. Okaloosa 66. Gulf

21. Gadsden 44. Sumter 67. Liberty
22. Putnam 45. Bradford 68. State H/Q
23. Bay 46. Jefferson 90. Dup H/Q

County code/prefixes were introduced in 1938.




18500 Murdock Cir | Port Charlotte, FL 33948
taxcollector.charlottecountyfl.gov | 941-743-1350

Request for Authentication of Florida License Plate

APPLICANT
Name:
Address:
Street Address City State Zip
Driver License No.: Daytime Phone No.:

AUTHENTICATED PLATE DESCRIPTION (1974 or older)

Florida Plate Number: Year of Florida Plate:

VEHICLE DESCRIPTION (plate and vehicle must be same year)
Vehicle Year: Make: Body:

Vehicle Identification No.: Current FL Title No.:

| hereby make an application for the issuance of the enclosed physical Florida license plate to
the above-described vehicle. The physical plate is being submitted for inspection and approval.

Under penalty of perjury, | declare | have read the foregoing document and the facts stated in it
are true.

Signature of Applicant

Step 1 Complete, print, and sign application.
Step 2 Hand deliver license plate and application to your local tax collector's office.

Step 3 Allow at least five business days for inspection and approval. We will contact you

during business hours for payment.

The tax collector is not responsible for lost in transit plates, damaged plates, or plates left at a
different branch or in drop boxes.

DMV Procedure RS-25 Florida Statute 320.086 Rev. 07/2024






