

FLORIDA TITLE TRANSFER

Have you purchased a Vehicle, Boat or Mobile Home in Florida?

Below are the required items to transfer ownership of a Florida Title.

Note: Titles must be transferred within 30 days of the purchase date in order to avoid a late penalty!

• The Original Florida Title: Both the buyer and seller must properly complete the "Transfer of Title by Seller" section on the title. It must include printed names and signatures of ALL buyer(s) and seller(s), odometer reading and date read, selling price and date of sale. (Both sellers are required to sign if names are joined by AND)

NOTE: Cross-outs, white-out, alterations, or erasures may void the title and may require you to submit a Notarized or Perjury Clause Bill of Sale signed by the seller. This form can be obtained by accessing https://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/BTR/82050.pdf or by visiting one of our offices (See next page for examples of Florida Titles).

• **Identification**: All new owners or purchasers* must be present with one of the following <u>valid (unexpired)</u> documents: (1) State-issued Driver License/ID Card (includes US Territories), (2) Passport from any country, or (3) Canadian Driver License/ID Card. If a new owner/purchaser cannot be present, consider using a <u>Power Of Attorney</u>, which can be obtained from our website or our office. You will be required to submit a copy of the absent individual's identification along with the completed Power of Attorney form.

*Businesses are required to submit documentation showing they are a valid business; typically, this can be done most easily with a printout from SunBiz (http://ccfcorp.dos.state.fl.us/search.html). If the individual acting on behalf of the business is not listed as an officer, director, or registered agent on Sunbiz, they must also submit, on letterhead, a letter that authorizes them to act on behalf of the business.

 Proof of Current Florida Insurance*: The card, policy, certificate or binder (expires within 60 days) must state the insurance is a <u>Florida Policy</u> and be in the new owner's name, listing the specific information for the vehicle you are titling and contain the Florida Insurance company code. Insurance cannot be expired or post-dated.

*The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles does not require insurance for the following:

- Boats
- Off-Highway Vehicles
- Trailers
- Mobile Homes
- Motorcycles

Sales Tax: You will be required to pay 6% state sales tax, if applicable. Plus, a discretionary sales tax rate based on the county in which you reside (*Charlotte County is 1% on the first \$5000.00*).

Estimated Fees:

o Title transfer + new plate (1-12 month registration)......\$380-\$410

o Title transfer + Transfer Current plate......\$90-\$120

Note: Estimate does not include sales tax.

